Vicio 7"

  • Vicio 7

Vicio 7"

This item is unavailable.

ltd 300

If the Bad Brains were from the US-Mexico borderlands they would’ve sounded like Vicio. Full stop. Latinx youth from the streets of Laredo pumping out tracks to smash border walls. You should have picked this up when it was a demo tape back in 2000, but you didn’t. This is the final Emma Navajas Records release, twenty years in the making. Eight tracks of wake-the-f-up Latinx hardcore in Spanish. The drums hit like a marching snare, a call to rise up and confront racism and fascism, which in case you haven’t noticed is alive and well in 2020 as it was for these border youth twenty years ago. Musically speaking, if you wanna geek out, listen closely to this record and its colors and tones. Roberto has a signature bass tone that so many bands today try to get. When you hear it, you’ll ask what the kids asked back then: "How do you get that tone?" That’s not something you can just get. That tone was created out of necessity and urgency, for then as much as for today.

EB Thoughts on this record:

Although this is not an Extinction Burst release, being the distributor of this final Emma Navajas record is the next best thing. The Emma Navajas label has brought us the DESCARADOS 12" e.p., SIN ORDEN's "Arte, Cultura Y Resistencia" LP and VENGANZA's "Tus Heroes No Son Los Mios" e.p. and now after 20 years, VICIO has received a proper vinyl release. Imagine the rawness of Los Saicos thrown in with the urgency of the Bad Brains and you would hold in your hand the Vicio 7". Although only four releases on the label, Emma Navajas was very selective to what it released and wouldn't release bands just for the sake of releasing punk music, but rather release four urgent records that they felt needed to be heard and documented. Extinction Burst felt this release was so important to the history of Latinx punk, that we've designed a Curatorial Sounds insert to go with it. Important, urgent and relevant, you need this in your arsenal now.

*Ships 10/23/20

VICIO was:

Roberto Flores- Bass
Mike Whitehawk- Drums
Carlos Moctezuma - Vocals
O.T. Jennings- Guitar

Track Listing

  1. Tu Placer Es Maltratado
  2. Verguenza
  3. Desrespetados, Golpeados, Y Cansados
  4. Las Cualidades Del Flojo
  5. La Raiz De Tu Cultura
  6. Luchar
  7. Vicio
  8. Terrorized

More in Curatorial Sounds View All